Padres attempt hidden-ball trick vs. Giants
Cabrera tags Sandoval at second, but timeout apparently called
SAN DIEGO -- The Padres apparently will go to great lengths to get a victory these days, even attempting the old hidden-ball trick.
In the fifth inning of Friday's game against the Giants, shortstop Everth Cabrera tried to pull one over on the Giants after Pablo Sandoval was at second base with an RBI double.
"Yeah, that's my idea because I'm trying to do something to get out of the inning, something different," Cabrera said.
Cabrera, ball in glove, waited until Sandoval drifted off the bag to take his lead before tagging him -- all before pitcher Sean O'Sullivan dug in to make a pitch to Hunter Pence.
Out, right? Wrong.
Second-base umpire Laz Diaz ruled that time had been granted to Sandoval before play. Cabrera briefly complained before play resumed.
"He said he gave time to Sandoval," Cabrera said.
The Padres trailed, 2-1, at that point before the Giants scored three runs in the sixth inning for a 5-1 lead. The Giants went on to win, 10-1.
The Padres have now dropped 17 of their last 20 games.