© 2014 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

3/3/2014 7:20 P.M. ET

Six players named to Hooton Foundation board

Kershaw, Scherzer among those to join fight against performance-enhancing drugs

Six current Major League players have been named charter members of an advisory board formed by the Taylor Hooton Foundation, the advocacy group at the forefront of the fight against performance-enhancing drug use by young people.

Jay Bruce of the Reds, David DeJesus of the Rays, Dillon Gee of the Mets, Clayton Kershaw of the Dodgers, Max Scherzer of the Tigers, C.J. Wilson of the Angels and Brad Ziegler of the D-backs are the first members of the advisory board, and a Hooton Foundation media release said more members will be announced during the 2014 season.

"Words cannot describe my emotions as we partner with these incredible athletes and role models," Taylor Hooton Foundation president Don Hooton said in a release. "These young men have stepped up to make a difference with America's youth by becoming visible role models, examples of outstanding athletes who work hard and compete fairly. Their participation in our initiatives will be invaluable."

According to the foundation's press release, the players on the advisory board will participate in the foundation's educational activities in their local communities and record public-service announcements. Their input will be used to enhance the foundation's efforts to educate young people about the dangers of PEDs.

John Schlegel is a national reporter for MLB.com. You can follow him on Twitter at @JohnSchlegelMLB. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.