To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to main content

Press Release

09/5/2007 1:45 PM ET
Fans to help select baseball's Man of the Year

NEW YORK -- Fans voting on-line this week will help select the Major League baseball player whose on-field performance and contributions to his community inspire others to higher levels of achievement. Fan-voting for the Marvin Miller Man of the Year Award will be conducted on, the official website of Major League baseball players, through Monday, September 10.

The Marvin Miller Man of the Year Award is bestowed annually by Major League players, along with nine other PLAYERS CHOICE AWARDS, to honor the players they believe are the best in the game. Players on each of the thirty Major League teams have nominated one teammate as a candidate for the 2007 Marvin Miller Man of the Year Award.

Fans now may visit to select their favorite among the nominees. Six finalists chosen by the fans will appear on the PLAYERS CHOICE AWARDS ballot when all Major Leaguers vote [September 11 & 12] to select the winner.

Albert Pujols of the St. Louis Cardinals was the recipient of the 2006 Man of the Year Award. Albert and his wife, Deidre, are the founders of the Pujols Family Foundation, which is dedicated to the love, care, and development of people with Down Syndrome and their families. Past winners of the award, named for the legendary baseball union leader, also include Jim Thome, John Smoltz, Mike Sweeney, Mark McGwire, Sammy Sosa, Eric Davis and Paul Molitor.

The 2007 PLAYERS CHOICE AWARDS also honor the outstanding player, rookie, pitcher, and comeback player in each league, as well as the overall Outstanding Player of the Year. 2007 Players Choice Award winners in all categories will designate charities to receive grants totaling $260,000 from the Players Trust. Since 1992, the Players Trust has recognized the outstanding on-field and off-field performances of Players Choice Awards winners by contributing over $3 million to charities around the world.

The following players were nominated by their teammates for the 2007 Marvin Miller Man of the Year Award: [Visit to learn more about their community involvement.]

Arizona: Tony Clark; Atlanta: Tim Hudson; Baltimore: Brian Roberts; Boston: Tim Wakefield; Chicago Cubs: Derrek Lee; Chicago White Sox: Jim Thome; Cincinnati: Aaron Harang; Cleveland: Travis Hafner; Colorado: Matt Holliday; Detroit: Brandon Inge; Florida: Miguel Cabrera; Houston: Craig Biggio; Kansas City: John Buck; Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim: Vladimir Guererro; Los Angeles Dodgers: Brad Penny; Milwaukee: Geoff Jenkins; Minnesota: Torii Hunter; New York Mets: Tom Glavine; New York Yankees: Derek Jeter; Oakland: Nick Swisher; Philadelphia: Jamie Moyer; Pittsburgh: Jack Wilson; San Diego: Jake Peavy; San Francisco: Barry Zito; Seattle: Raul Ibanez; St. Louis: Albert Pujols; Tampa Bay: James Shields; Texas; Michael Young; Toronto: Roy Halladay; Washington: Ryan Zimmerman.

The Major League Baseball Players Association ( is the collective bargaining representative for all professional baseball players of the thirty Major League Baseball teams and serves as the exclusive group licensing agent for commercial and licensing activities involving active Major League baseball players. On behalf of its members, it operates the Players Choice licensing program and Players Choice Awards, which benefit the needy through the Major League Baseball Players Trust, a charitable foundation established and run entirely by Major League baseball players.